• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Inline Reels?

rl_sd

Instead of reviving the thread from 2017, I figured it would be better off starting from scratch. I have been looking at inline reels now for a year to use for pan fishing. I’ve never used one before, only held them at the store. I was really close to buying the 13 radioactive pickle combo after thanksgiving when they had them for $90, but didn’t pull the trigger. Question for those of you that have them.... Is there a “middle of the line” combo that won’t break the bank, yet functions like it should? I hate to go cheap and end up not liking the setup because of poor build quality versus the function and handling of an inline reel. Thoughts?

I have heard from others the radio active pickle and the white ghost free fall aren't the best for dropping small jigs. Which that is what they are suppose to do.......In other words not worth the money. The higher end free falls are pretty good, and work well.

I do have the high end free fall, and I used it panfishing gills this last weekend on a St croix legend spring Bobber UL Rod. At first I disliked it, but once I got use to it I found it to be a nice smooth reel. Biggest problem I had was hitting the trigger to free spool when I went to set the hook. The drop adjustment worked well, and it dropped my small 1/80th lead head jig just fine. 

Like  most inlines you get what you pay for. I was kinda disapointed to hear about the radio active pickle reel.....I built a bright green Rod to put one on......guess I won't be now.

10 hours ago, Agronomist_at_IA said:

I have heard from others the radio active pickle and the white ghost free fall aren't the best for dropping small jigs. Which that is what they are suppose to do.......In other words not worth the money. The higher end free falls are pretty good, and work well.