• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Broadheads: Mechanical or fixed?

MidCoast

My buddy has been trying to sell me on the Swhacker this year.  This is his first year hunting with them but he's been happy with their accuracy compared to field tips so far. We'll see how well they do on a deer for him this year.

This is my first year bow hunting and I'm in the middle of my research on broadheads as well.  I'm shooting a little lighter draw weight so I'm going to be sticking a fixed blade.  I'm leaning toward either slick trick, magnus stinger, or muzzy 3 blade.

I shoot G5 Strikers and VPAs on big boned critters (e.g., elk) and shoot Spitfire Maxx mechanicals on deer.  I've had great luck with both.  I shot expandables on elk one time and won't ever make that mistake again...

I have shot just about all the top Broadheads out there and they have all seemed to have failed me on performance and lack of blood trails at one point or another and as of the last 3 years I have been using the NAP KillZone with tremendous success and massive entry and exit holes leaving massive amounts of blood. They do tremendous damage and are extremely durable and work flawlessly. I am shooting 68lbs with the newer Easton Ingexion arrow at 29 inches and 10.1 gpi. Below is your typical entry hole and exit hole are even bigger. Hope this helps.

Killzone Broadhead.jpg

Fixed or expandable is a loaded question ! Everyone has there own opinion. 

I feel accuracy and shot placement trumps all . . .

I have tried a lot of heads and will probably try more , it's fun to try different ones . I only found one that I will never use again the T3 two out of three broke off at the thread