• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Private Ponds

Fish Omaha

I am a college student finishing up my degree and I am doing a report on "Paying to Fish at Private Ponds" 

Would the anglers out there pay to fish the private ponds in their region? Why or why not? 

Would the private pond owners allow anglers to fish at their ponds for pay? Why or Why not? 

Thank you! 

I wouldn't pay in MN.  Way to many public areas to fish.  May change depending on your region.  Depending on the size of the pond if it was on my private land I likely wouldn't allow paid fishers on it either as that would inevitably lead to waste and cleanup needed. my .02

I agree with MLR.  

I have some family members that are part of a little association that grants them access to a really nice private pond - good size and filled with monster gills and small mouth. But that's in Iowa and it's a good hour drive to the closest craptastic lake.

1 hour ago, Fish Omaha said:

I am a college student finishing up my degree and I am doing a report on "Paying to Fish at Private Ponds" 

Would the anglers out there pay to fish the private ponds in their region? Why or why not? 

Would the private pond owners allow anglers to fish at their ponds for pay? Why or Why not? 

Thank you! 

For the most part you will see small private Trout Ponds but not much more in this state anyway.

I would definitely pay to fish in a private pond if you where offering something different or better.  The price I would be willing to pay would be commensurate with the experience .It would have to be better than what is available for free.