• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Musky Reel

clKiekhafer

I'm just starting out with some musky tackle and looking for some suggestions.  I'm looking for ideas for a good baitcaster reel, one that is good quality that won't break the bank.  I'm not interested in junk because I know the long term cost is much higher if buying the cheap stuff, but then again I'm not looking to pay the high prices for some of the stuff that's out there either.

Any info that you guys could share would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks

You can find Revo Toro NaCl's for around $200-$250 right now. I've seen some cheaper than that even brand new in the box. Those are very nice reels for the money IMO. Daiwa Saltists are awesome reels as well and I believe those are around $220. The Lexa 300's are solid reels and if you're into spending $280 the Curado 300EJ is a great reel too. Shimano Calcutta 400B's are solid reels as well. Those are just some reels that in my experience will last you and don't kill your wallet. Go to Thorne's or somewhere that you can look at the reels and hold them in your hand and make a decision from there.

Hope this helps,

-Zander 

Shimano 400B. Have 2, many fish boated on them up to 45 pounds and no issues at all knock on wood but they seem pretty solid for around $229.00. Handles still are snug and strong, fishes well.1 I've had now for 10 years throwing big blades and baits, seems alright.

Don't forget to do some searching online and check out online muskie forums and Facebook groups, most have classified sections and you can get some used equipment for a steal in very good shape.  My last 2 reels I bought I bought online and got some sweet deals, you can even find some new equipment for good deals.