• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Yard Shed

been researching the diy put together yourself suff alot lately with 3 bad common deniminators in reviews; 1. warped product in kit 2. iffy hardware 3. always spent a few extra bucks with reinforcement. so instead of paying $800-1500 and being mad about it wife said do it yourself from scratch. i have zero experience cept for just finishing our basement. looking at 8x14 or 10x12. this seem possible for a first timer? what should flooring b to get started, 2x4 or 2x6? 1/2 inch/ 5/8, 3/4 osb? heaviest thing in it will b snowblower & 2 man ice sled. TIA

I built a Menards kit, something like 10 x 20, back in the 80's and it still stands today though we no longer own the property. I did add some extra support here and there, but with a good roof and proper construction these will do.

More recently I built a Cambridge 10x12 kit which pretty much all pre-cut ... you just have to nail/screw it together. It came out quite well. I ordered and added extra roof trusses for higher snow load ... and it should last longer than I will. It doesn't take any special skills or knowledge to build one of these kits ... just a few basic tools and don't rush ...