• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Bad Concrete Pour

jjohnson5150

We recently had a concrete driveway put in. All went well with that. However, when it came time to do the sidewalk & steps in the colored / stamped design, it went bad. We were told the concrete set up too fast. After raising concern the day of pour, we were told it would be fixed. Once the forms came off, they even mixed up some adhesive to fix a void on the side of the steps that went 12-24". The powder was washed off over the weekend and now it's looking really bad. I asked for a face to face meeting to discuss issues and request replacement. The contractor is saying it can be repaired. I'm not convinced since there are spots already crumbling. Common sense tells me it needs to be redone. However, I'm far from an expert on concrete. I've had a half dozen people come over to look at it. Everyone besides the contractor agrees it's terrible. I don't see it lasting one winter the way it is. Does anyone have any experience with concrete adhesive or repairing voids, cracks, etc after it's dried? I'm hoping to gather some good info for the face to face meeting I have with the contractor. This is a lot of money so I want it done right. I don't expect the meeting to be pleasant since we are going to be firm on our request. I'm working on adding some pictures.

I've done concrete work for 15 years and that does look terrible. Have you paid full price for it yet? You have the right to have it done properly. Patches and fillers do work if installed properly but once concrete dries too fast it will crumble and It'll just cause problems later on. My suggestion is for the contractor to replace it do not let him try to fix it first.