• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Leaders & Bass?

ScottND

I am a reforming walleye fisherman originally from central ND. I've just started bass fishing in an Ottertail area lake known for muskies also. So far in my 3 trips to this lake I've caught several bass with my best being a 19" largemouth. My problem is that I'm losing a lot of lures (biteoffs)and bending a lot of #2 crosslocks on what I think is muskies. I have not seen the culprits yet.

The question is...will a leader throw off the effectiveness of my texas rigs or buzzbaits for bass?

If not, I'm going to wire-up and see what is stealing my tackle.

[This message has been edited by ScottND (edited 09-18-2003).]

Hey Scott,

I have no personal experience to report on this issue, however a friend of mine who targets musky on Lake Vermilion has told of smallmouth bass hitting on his large surface baits that are being dragged by a heavy leader. shocked.gif I don't know if largemouth would be as aggressive. I believe Berkley used to have a leader that was not made of steel but of some hybred plastic. Something like that might not eliminate all of the bite offs, but may save you a few bucks in lures.

------------------
Lew