• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Spinnerbait 101

I've caught some fish on spinnerbaits, but I dont really know what I'm doing. Can anyone give me a lesson on what size, color, presentations to use? Any help is appreciated!

-just_fishin

I guess it depends on the cover you're trying to fish.

I'm no pro by anymeans, but here's my .02 (and I love the spinner bait)

You're going to want to have a few different sizes, colors, and blades.

If you want to fish on submerged weedflats, you want to "tick" the tops of the weeds. A lighter spinner bait and colorado blade is a good choice.

If you want to fish fast use a little heavier spinner bait 1/2 or something and have the willow blades on it. Willow blades have less drag so you can "burn" them just under the surface.

You also want the spinner bait to run "true". If the spinner bait is rolling or running side ways see if you can bend the wire a bit to make it run true.

Another trick I like to do on lighter spinner baits is clap on a "mississippi" weight. The one with the rubber core. Take out the core and jimmy the weight on the hook and clamp her down.

Doing this you can use smaller baits with bigger blades and fish them deeper without worrying about it rolling. (I do this to my cheaper spinner bait)

1/2 to 3/8 are pretty good all around. It just depends on what you're trying to accomplish.

Also, ever heard of slow rolling a spinner bait? I like to use a 1/2 with colorado blades and let it sink and slowly reel in feeling the blade go thump, thump, thump.

1 blade or 2? If it's really weedy I like one blade otherwise I'll roll with two blades.

As for color, mix it up. White is a must for largemouth, pumpkinseed, black and blue, I caught a nice musky on a red spinner bait. A cheapo one at that.