• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How to deal with adjacent landowner who has no idea what he owns.

DRH1175

So I lease 80 acres in northern MN. I get a call from the adjacent land owner on sunday morning asking permission to track a deer on my land. I say "Sure go ahead hopefully you find him." Well later in the day I venture to the Back 40, (as we were hunting the front 40) where he was going to look for that deer. To my disbelief he has posted my property no where near the property line, but right down the middle 10 yds from one of my stands. He is close to 20 acres deep on my property or over 600 feet off the property line. I want to be a good neighbor and resolve this the right way. What should I do?

I would like to add I am a surveyor, so I understand boundries. And in the day and age of GPS, Google Earth, and County GIS maps, I just don't understand how he could be so far off. My stand he posted is in the dead center of one of the 40's we lease. It is at the end of a trail that is plain as day on the counties GIS maps that can be accessed by anyone.

Again, what is the best way to resolve this?

You have to ask us this? Pick up the telephone and talk to the man. My guess is the situation will be quickly resolved.

Nothing solves problems like a little cooperation and communication.

Now if we could just teach that to the children in Washington DC! LOL

Call him. Tonight.

We had a similar issue, old postings (probably from previous owners) further back on our adjoining properties were terrible. The east/west boundary was posted so that if you drew a line between the postings, the "boundary" was running SE/NW!

GPS solved that problem easily enough, and we were both happy for knowing where the boundaries were further back!