• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What ATV would you buy?

luckystiff

I'm new to the ATV world and want to know peoples opinions on what ATV is the best on the market. I plan on using it for plowing snow, ice fishing, and recreational trail riding.
I plan on purchasing in the next 30 days.
Thanks for your input!

That is really a tough question.

All brands have good quality units. You really cannot go wrong with any of them.

First and foremost, buy from a reputable dealer. It does not hurt to shop for the best deal, but don't let price be the sole determining factor.

If you are going to do a lot of trail riding, look for something with an independant rear suspension.

I have a Polaris 400 Sportsman that does all the things you listed quite well. I'm very happy with it. That said, I nearly bought a Honda and an Arctic Cat before I settled on the Polaris. The Dealer was the final difference.

Good Luck!

If you are going to plow snow, an automatic transmission is nice. the polaris has an easy to reach shift lever and goes from forward to reverse a littel easier than others. I am on my second polaris and have been very happy with that brand. Buying a new ATV is like buying anything new. You are going to have guys say that Polaris, yamaha, Honda, Kawasaki are all "the best." Brand loyalty is a powerful thing. I have a new Polaris ATP 500. I bought it because of the automatic transmission and the new storage features and load capacities that it has. I can't give you much feedback on it yet, since it only has 20 miles on it. I think it is going to be the perfect ice fishing and plowing rig for me. You can see the polaris lineup at polarisindustries.com. Have fun!

I bought a new Honda Rubicon a few months ago for the same purposes you mention and it works great.