• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Newbie Questions

BradB

Howdy,

I'm thinking of getting an ATV for two purposes: Minnesota ice fishing (pulling an Otter 2-man), and deer hunting in and around a tamarac/black spruce/spagnum moss swamp (hauling in blind materials, hauling out trophy bucks). I have zero experience with ATV's.

Do any of you have any suggestions on where I could learn what I need to know to get the proper machine?

A buddy told me to get an Arctic Cat 300 4WD. He said that would be light enough and powerful enough for what I want it to do and priced about right.

I'd appreciate any help you might give and thanks.

Hi, BradB.

I was faced with a similar decision about a year ago, and it's tough to dig up the needed information. My first evaluation point and perhaps the most obvious was what was going to be its primary use. Easy answer for me, ice fishing. So power wasn't a real big issue since I only be toting a portable. Clearance, however, was a huge issue. I wanted maximum clearence. If I had the need to pull a permanent, yeah, power would be a big issue. The third thing I considered was drive train. 4 wheel drive was an obvious. A shiftless transmission would be a big plus in deeper snow. I didn't really want to fiddle with gears if I got stuck, and there's no question you'll get stuck at some point. Fourth was reputation. I really think all the players make a quality unit. If you're not going to abuse them like a teenager, they're all pretty bullet proof. Fifth was easy access to a dealership, whereever you might take it. Things don't break often, but you know they'll break at inopportune times. Finally, I considered price. They all seemed to be fairly similar as far as MSRP goes. However, individual dealer prices varied widely. So, it pays to call around.