• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Baitcasting line

65# spiderwire has not been very good for me, although you will never break it and casts very far, it just seems to act "weird" sometimes. I have limited experience with baitcasters, but I've tried 20 pound braid, 65 pound braid, 10 pound mono, 30 pound mono, and 20 pound dacron. The dacron has by far been my favorite, it casted great and smooth, and seemed to have the benefits of braid. I'd be using it now if I had spools bigger than 50 yards of it.

For the life of me I haven't been able to find it lately and I'm not sure they still make it but Rapala made a "stretch braid" which has been my favorite braid that I have tried. The last time I spooled up on my main pike baitcaster was about three years ago and it still seems to be in relatively good shape and very castable. But it's at the end of it's life and I'd like to replace it. Does anyone know if they still make it?

I get weird stuff happening with PP as well. I get it making knots and I dont know it, till I cast and it catches. I reel in a total rats nest that makes no logical sense.

I think its overrated line.

For my big pike baitcaster, I use 65lb PowerPro with no issues. Pretty noisy going through the guides is my only real complaint. No issues with backlashes, in fact I finally like my baitcaster after trying out mono and Fireline previously. The power pro can also stop your boat like an anchor rope if you snag smile

I use Suffix 832 on all my rods. I fish for pike, bass and musky. I have all different strengths on the rods.

I have used PP and Spider wire over the years and like Suffix the best.