• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lab training question???

Here is one I bet not to many people think of or have trained thier dog for.

I have a some what small back yard where the kids like to play ofter.My yard shed is located to one side with 5 ft spacing between the fence all the way around two sides.

My question is this; How can I train a puppy to only do his/her duty around the back of the shed.

2nd question is more simple, how would I train the puppy to shake off the water when exiting the lake after he/she gives up the bird.

I have seen to many birds take off when the dog stops to shake after exiting the water.
The earlier question is for sanitary reasons and I can be lazy once in the while smile.gif

Benny

Benny
I am by no means a professional trainer but I have trained my 1 1/2 year old lab to do these exact things.

"My question is this; How can I train a puppy to only do his/her duty around the back of the shed."

Last winter every time my wife would let the dog out he would do his "duty" anywhere on the lawn. Whenever I let him out I was telling him to go to the back of the yard where we have some tall weeds by a pond. Here is where the training starts:
First I had to train my wife on what to do when she let the pup out.
Then keep a close eye on him/her and if they start the "process" in an unwanted area give a correction and direct to where you want them to be. It also helps to have an established "Potty" command so the pup knows what you want.

"2nd question is more simple, how would I train the puppy to shake off the water when exiting the lake after he/she gives up the bird."

Not necessarily the easier of the two questions.