• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

First time bass boat questions

apegs

I am currently looking to purchase my first bass boat. Due to my budget I will be purchasing a used bass boat. Im new to this and dont really know much about engines.

My question is how do you know if a motor is fuel injected? I have been told this is the way to go. I have been looking at a skeeter that has a two stroke yamaha engine. Can two stroke be fuel injected? Any info on motors will help and how to tell if its fuel injected. And thoughts on pros and cons between two and four stroke. Thanks.

Merc Optimax, Evinrude Etec and Yamaha HPDI are all fuel injected. Yamaha had some two stroke motors with a throttle body EFI called the OX66 as well.

The benefts and downfals are the same as the vehicle you drive. No carburator (good) but you have electronics which depending on the model/year may be bad.

Today I would say that all new motors fall into great catagory. 10-15 years ago I wouldn't say that.

If your looking at a bass boat more than likely it will be a two stroke.

I would not limit myself to only fuel injection. There are a lot of very solid motors out there that are not fuel injection. Im on my 4th bass boat now. My newest is the only one that is/was fuel injected. All of them ran like tops! Learn as much as you can about each of the brands both motor and eng. Find out what you like about each of them, and then start your search. If your not in a huge hurry, there are a TON of fantastic deals out there to be had. IF you are willing to drive you can save a lot of money too. I drove to Iowa for my first Champion, then to Bowling Green Kentucky for my Triton.. and picked up my BassCat in Ohio.