• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Where are all the Dead Moose

Just out of curiosity, how many dead moose/moose carcass have you found?

i have spent many years up in the northland hiking, and i know quite a few shed hunters.....

if the population is "Truly" declining by 1,500+ animals per year...shouldn't we be finding significant dead animals?

i've thought this for years....but i'm not a scientist.

i do know that two years ago, the fly over plots only included 1 plot in cook county (highest density of moose in any county)....

much of what is surveyed is not true moose habitat in my opinion.

this is a rant i know, and i know that wolves probably take a significant number of moose calves every spring, but where are all the dead moose???

i've found 1 carcass in 5yrs.... it was analized by my professor at UMD and was said to have died of starvation.

I've come across a skull or two in my BWCA travels, no full carcass though.

But I'm not sure that means much since I also haven't come across any carcasses of any black bear or wolves and I'm pretty sure they die occasionally as well and with greater population numbers you'd think you'd run across a dead one now and again.

Do you really believe that the moose population is not declining? Even based on the ancedotal evidence of us arm chair biologists its pretty easy to see that we aren't seeing the same number of moose as we have in the past.

Do you really believe that the moose population is not declining? Even based on the ancedotal evidence of us arm chair biologists its pretty easy to see that we aren't seeing the same number of moose as we have in the past.

It's not declining, this is all lies... clearly this is a conspiracy by the current administration to come get our guns

grin