• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to spearing/Portable issues

ethanR

Hey guys, I am new to spearing and have a few questions I'd like to ask. I am trying to spear out of a Shappell Wide House hub style portable. I've been out twice now both times on what I thought to be a good spot, 8-9 fow, great clarity, close to a deep hole in the lake, and lots of weeds on the bottom. I sat for 6 hours the first day and 5 the second day. I've only seen two bluegills in all that time. Something is not right here. I've been talking to my dad and other friends who have speared and they think I might need some kind of make shift floor. I will admit it's not as dark as a permanent darkhouse and alot of light comes up through the ice, but could this really be spooking fish? Also I'd really like to not have to move to too many different spots, considering I put my holes in with a hand auger and spud bar. Not the most fun i've ever had. Haha

Any and all help is welcome. Much Thanks!

Not a problem, lots of guys spear out of some sort of portable. If you think there is to much light coming thru the ice. put down a piece of carpet or rubber mat to reduce the light through the ice. In my otter it is light enough to read a paper in there. but the biggest thing is moving stuff across the ice, and boots crunching on the ice. the carpet and/or mat will reduce the sound and light. I have on ocasions put a tarp over the otter to reduce the bright sunny days coming throught the fabric. It sounds like you are in a good spot, if the weeds are standing make sure your not surrounded by tall weeds where fish swimming a little ways away can't see the decoy. Also if they are laying down, I would move a little deeper on the outside of the weedline. they will be cruising the edge if the weeds have layed down.

A floor helps alot.