• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Field dressing

So I am a complete rookie to duck hunting but in the chance I actually down one or more this weekend can anyone give me their process for field dressing them? I'm thinking I would probably just worry about the breast at this point. I have read some stuff on other sites but I'm curious what you all have to say. Thanks.

Whole duck..Pluck, remove wings/feet, cut skin completely around the base of the neck. cut through the skin at the base of the rib cage around the front of the duck. Take kitchen shears and clip through the bones along each side of the spine and pull back on the neck. All of the insides will peel out with the spine.

Breasting. pluck the front from neck line to under the rib cage and from wing to wing. Pull skin outward, make a small cut then use your fingers to pull the skin away from the body, cutting the skin away when you can (on the centerline of the breast). Once the whole breast is visable remove the breast meat.

Quickest way for Field dressing as you have to have 1 feathered wing would be this. Peel skin off of both sides of the breast. Once breast is exposed put 2 fingers under bottom of brest and 2 under top of breast. Step on feet and head and pull. The breast and 2 wings will pull loose of rest of carcass.

Here is a video:

Quickest way for Field dressing as you have to have 1 feathered wing would be this. Peel skin off of both sides of the breast. Once breast is exposed put 2 fingers under bottom of brest and 2 under top of breast. Step on feet and head and pull. The breast and 2 wings will pull loose of rest of carcass.

Here is a video:

Wow.