• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fall Re-Seed

lindy rig

Probably like many, my yard seemed to take a beating this summer. I have some areas of dead/dormant grass with weeds. In other areas the lawn is ok, but some areas are thin and seem stressed.

Is this a good time to overseed? Or should I wait until it gets cooler yet? Also how should I do it. Aerate? I have never done that before.

This is the ideal time of year to do seeding. One of the main components of success will be water so if your lawn is stressed now because of the lack of water, new seed may not do much better. However, if you can provide water this is the best time of year for seeding. Add in some fertilizer and lawns repair themselves really well this time of year.

Rake out the old dead grass.

Dead dead grass will be gray / white. If it's tan, it's just dormant.

Get a quality starter fertilizer, and some decent seed and spread both evenly per label instructions.

Rake it in and water, water, water. We haven't had much rain at all (generally speaking) and even yards on irrigation have pretty much dried out unless they're being watered over 1/2 each day.

I have some properties that are being watered 2 x's per day and are still dry in spots.

My lawn took a beating this summer as well. I am going to have to re-seed a majority of it and was wondering if renting a slice-seeder would be better then using a broadcast spreeder? Also, if I do use the spreeder, what setting should I have it on for seeding with an Athletic Turf mix? Any help is appreciated!!!

The pros have spoken. I will add my own 2 cents.