• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Casting Small lures

TigerBlood

I’m still pretty new to trout fishing. I’m a spin cast guy. I use an ultra light rod/reel and 8# Power Pro line. I didn’t know much about lures/sizes etc. So I purchased Mepps trout kit which has 6 size #0 spinners. I use Mepps all the time for bass & pike with good success – so I know their lures work. But these things are so small/light – I can’t cast them very far and I feel like I’m spooking fish because I have to get so close to areas I think hold fish. Are these small lures made for different set ups i.e. a really long rod or something? I just don’t find them useful for current set up due to lack of distance. From reading many posts on here, it seems like guys are using much bigger/heavier lures. But it just seems like everything marketed as a “trout lure” is tiny and light. Are those lures just designed to catch fisherman instead of fish? If so, I just got hooked for about $40

I go with a 1/8 or 1/12 oz (or larger) Mepps-type in-line spinner over the really tiny 1/24 or 1/32 oz. ones. Even tiny trout will hit a 1/8 oz Mepps most of the time. When fishing in current at the head of riffles the heavier lure will run a little deeper, too.

As you found, those tiny spinners are tougher to cast any distance, and most of the time there's no advantage to pitching a #0 Mepps over an otherwise identical #1 or #2 in terms of what the fish prefer.

It will also help to go with lighter line--I use 4 lb. test mono for trout. I use a lot of 8 lb. PowerPro for walleye, and from that experience I know it won't cast a small lure like a #0 Mepps well at all. That goes for the bigger in-line spinners as well.