• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What's attractive early?

I've got a small foodplot at my mo-in-laws that I'm working on. I just planted 3/4 of it with a brassicus that'll become attractive to the deer primarily through the months of Nov and Dec. I'd like to seed the rest with something that'll be more attractive early in the year. Is this the case for clover?

Also, I'll be disking the whole thing up in the Spring to help with leveling and mulching up some of the debris that's there, so there's no need for a perennial. Suggestions please...

P.S. I need to pick up the seed by noon tomorrow, so the sooner I can get some suggestions, the better!!!

Hey scoot I'm no expert as I've only been food plotting for about 5 years now, but I have had some success and have done quite a bit of research. A person who really helped with many of my questions and is quite knowledgeable is LABS4ME.

From what I've learned and experienced is that by fall there is better options than clover. Clover is nice in the spring for antler growth among other things. A nice green leaf brassica like you have planted (even the tops/leafs of the turnips may get hit early on before the bulbs really sweeten up) or something like Rye Grass or Oats I think would suite you better.