• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Preventing Bite Offs

Ok, so I'm fairly new to trolling and my neighbor who does it has had great success with little joe spinners and crawler harnesses tipped with minnows. He primarily catches pike and I've started trolling his "route" and doing the same. I get a good mix of pike and largemouth, at least one nice-sized one every time out for almost certain. But I also get a bite off or what I can only assume is one about every other time out. Is this just part of the deal with trolling with this set-up or should I modify the rig with a wire leader somehow. Any tips would be appreciated. One article I read said you're going to get bite offs but you'd get fewer strikes with a wire leader on such a set up.

I would run a super braid off the reel, the little Joe should come with it's own mono, after you catch a fish run your fingers down the line and feel and look for nick's or frays on the line.

make sure your using a good knot a lot of brake offs happen at the knot.

the thicker the line the more it will have a tendency to raise up when your moving, so if you don't have the same line as your friend and let out the same amount of line your baits may be at different levels in the water column, you may have to let out more or less line depending on what's needed. hope this helps good luck.

I'm not sure what rig your talking about, but a quick search shows a lindy rig. If you change the line from the mainline/wieght to the spinner, it should not affect how deep it runs. I personally would put on a really light wire like 15 or 20 pound, but a heavy mono 50 lb+ would work too, with very little visibility. I'm not sure what bait your using, but a bigger beefier hook might help as well, but match hook size to bait.