• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New

Hi,

I'm new to muskies. I'd like to get started, not sure i want to dive head first yet though. I've just picked up a used Abu 5600 and a St Croix Premier Heavy.

I know NOTHING about muskie baits other than they look redicilous, so i've got no idea what to spend my money on. I've also got a buddy who picked up a whole bunch of baits from someone who got out of the game, but i haven't a clue what lures work.

Can you recommend 10 lures that would give me a good starting point? Maybe your preferred colors. I'd greatly appreciate it. I'd also like some lures for trolling in the propwash.

Sorry for the Newb question,

JMO- get yourself five lures and give it a try. Don't bother buying a bunch more- no need. Lure's I'd suggest to a newbie with your setup:

1) single spin rad dog

2) small bucktail- muskie candies are good and can be burned fast

3) tail spinning prop bait- small Pacemaker or something similar

4) double #8 bucktail- a single would also be fine

5) weighted Suick- drill out about 1/2 - 3/4 of the weight in it

For prop wash baits, you can use most of the baits above. Also, RK is a big fan of weight Sledges and Bomber Long As (the big ones) for this. He's done it a ton more than me, so when he suggests this sort of thing, I tend to listen...

Don't get too caught up in getting enough or the "right" lure- get out on the water with the lures above (or a number of other options would be fine too) and get the lures wet. Don't get too caught up in buying all the lures people tell you that you "need". FYI- the lures I mentioned above are not the newest, "sexiest" lures out there, but they just keep on catching fish.

Also, if you like books, two good ones are: "Muskies on the Shield" and "Pro Tactics: Muskie".

Good luck!!!