• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Adding outlet in ceiling for projector

hoggs222

I have a finished basement and I am looking to install an outlet in the ceiling for a projector. I have no real easy way to access a power source without ripping out a bunch of the ceiling.

I did notice that we have a hard-wired smoke detector running in the exact truss that I need to install an outlet.

Can I tie into this smoke detector to add a box? The house was built pre '89, so there is no need for hard wired detectors.

im just an amateur here but pretty sure u cannot (or at the very least should not) touch your smoke detector line. that is for smoke/carbon monoxide detectors only and would be a strong lapse in judgment to touch that. what if u had a fire and house burns down, then fire inspector finds out a smoke detector was not connected? dont think your home insurance would appreciate that.

anyhoo to your out let issue, you will probably have to find a light or outlet source to connect new outlet to & make sure u dont overload circuit in the process.

My guess is he wasn't going to unhook the smoke detector and use it for the projector, he was just going to basically add a junction box and feed the projector off of this.

Can it be done? Yes, if the total amp draw is less than the current capacity. Can it be done and still meet code or not interfere with the detector? That I am not sure of. But AF brings up a good point on insurance. If you do have a fire and you modified the wiring illegally and don't have it inspected then your insurance company may not pay out the claim.

im just an amateur here but

Then probably shouldn't be giving electrical advice.

Your smoke detectors are probably on a general purpose circuit to begine with so there would be no problem tapping into that box.