• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Help, I want the best Skipping setup

CCGinMN

I am looking to purchase a rod and reel (casting, not spinning) specifically dedicated to power skipping (docks) and want to know your opinions on what is the BEST set up for this application. We don't roll cast, we powerskip because we can get another 20 - 30' out of the cast. I am just learning this technique as I have been a walleye fisherman my whole life but two years ago joined a bass fishing league. We primarily skip 3/8 oz jigs but sometimes go down to 1/4 oz. Money isn't a deterent; i want the best. My mentor uses a steez rod with a zillion reel and 40# diawa samari. I'm looking at possibly purchasing a core or PX Type R with an NRX or Cumulus rod (the Zillion reel seems a little heavy). None of my buddies have experience with Dobbyns so let me know if you think that should be considered. So, what is the best setup for skipping 3/8 oz. jigs under docks???

Also, I do appreciate all of your opinions but please refrain from "You should use a spinning setup because it is easier" and "it is all about technique, you can do it with an ugly stick if you have good technique." Those are both valid points but are off topic.

Wow, I just checked that rod out and the MRP is around a grand. I didn't even know they made such an animal. I definitely don't have that kind of budget. I'm hoping to keep the entire setup less than a grand. I can barely justify spending an extra $150 to shave two ounces off of the reel.

Core flip (get it while you still can)

and

either 6-10 MH cumulus or NRX 853C JWR

I like it. The core flip looks like it only has 11 lbs. max drag. I know we don't have a lot of big fish in MN but doesn't that seem light? Also, it weighs close to 7 oz. Wouldn't I be better of with a Core 50 instead? Why the flip version??