• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Trout Pond Fishing

hookncook

http://www.twincities.com/life/ci_20648196/what-catch

I used to krinkle my nose up at the thought of pond trout fishing. I mean, come on! THAT 'aint fishing, and perhaps I've been spoiled after living here and stream trout fishing all my life.

Then I read this article, and the writer makes a good point, for them to come to Wisconsin, fish a pond with their kids in a picture-esq setting large enough to have a picnic of fresh grilled trout is a great get away for her and her family. Especially having young kids.

To us die hards, it's about like shooting fish in a barrel (literally) but in reality, it's probably the best training experience for them.

I'm very new to fishing. My son who is 5 shows a lot of interest in it so we decided to take it up. We have a trout pond that we go to sometimes but don't have much luck. Other people there are catching trout without any problem. Do you have any tips, or know where I can get some info, on what type of bait we should use? Maybe it isn't our bait and just out fishing method lol. We do use reels and a bobber...not fly fishing equipment. Thanks in advance!