• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

When do I need a transom saver?

Big-Al

I see lots of boats with and lots of boats without. I have a Smoker Craft 192 Millentia with a 115 Mercury Optimax. Since this boat is rated for a 175 my thought is that can get by without a transom saver. Is there a rule of thumb as far as when a person should use one?

Some boat mfgs build one of the strongest transoms which you don't need it. Some entry level boats will need transom savers. For yours, I'm no expert but I recommend it.

If you're going to travel far, I recommend using one regardless. If you're only minutes from the lake/river, its ok not to put it on.

On a motor that size, I would use one anytime I trailered the boat over a few miles. I have seen far too many boats with large outboards bouncing excessively as they go down the road without a transom saver. For me, the 10 seconds it takes to put one out far outweighs the issues that could occur as a result of having hundreds of pounds of motor bouncing on a transom.

This is coming from someone who had a transom actually break going down the highway and if were not for my homemade transome saver do hicky, i would have lost my 60hp evinrude down HWY 10 on Memorial Day a few years back. Would have been a disaster. I use on all the time.

I would use one anytime you want your trim system to feel every bump your trailer feels as you pull it down the highway.

If you lower the motor onto the saver then keep lowering the mechanism, your trim system is no longer in contact with the motor. That is the correct way to use one. Otherwise yes, you will be banging those trim rods with each bump in the road. Very good point.