• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Taking Pictures of Airplanes In-Air

Hello,

I have the Canon D500/T1i.

I will be attending the Mankato Airshow where our Navy Blue Angels (as well as other planes) will be:

-Stationary

-Ready to fly

-In air

I was wondering if I could get some tips on how to take great shots of the planes. My main objective is in-flight photos. I have the standard 18-50 and the 70-250 and will be bringing along a tripod.

I appreciate any tips/comments/etc.

Thanks!

MAS

I am no expert. I brought my camera w/ a 300mm to an airshow two years ago with the same intentions as you. 250 will not be enough to bring them in close from any distance. You'll see others using 400mm lenses. You will have to shoot when they are close to you. I found it is tough to keep fast moving objects in the frame and focused. I don't think you will need the tripod. Practice panning if you can. For jets you can set the shutter at 1/1000. For propeller you'll need 1/125 or 1/250 at max so you will get desirable "prop blur" which gives the shot the appearance of movement. Many newbies like us get shots where the prop is focused sharply and motionless. (This is what the plane looked like just after the engines quit.)

The stationary shots are a different matter, you will need patience to get shots when no people are present around the plane.

Bring a plastic bag for camera in case of a sudden rain shower.

Good Luck.

CF Ray nailed it! This is one of the few times I use Tv mode in the camera. I set my shutter speed to 1/250s or so, higher or lower if need be and shoot away. A static prop just doesn't look right at all! Jets move fast, use a fast shutter speed to keep things sharp. Don't bring a tripod, it will only get in the way and it is not needed. Good panning ability is what you will need.