• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How many hours is too many??

mhines

I'm looking at getting my first bass boat, and moving from runabouts, and small 10-25hp outboards, I'm still learning........So what the opinion around here?? When should one worry about the amount of hours on an outboard?? I'm looking at anything from 125-225HP.

Thanks in advance!

Mines an 08 and i have just under 90 hrs. I dont use it as much as id like to, but maybe average 3 to 4 times a month. I think the hr meters run no matter if you are idling or full throttle so i think it would be hard to tell if a motor has a lot of slow trolling hours or ft hrs. Dont know if i helped any, but its something.

Hour meters run when the key is on. Doesn't even matter if the engine is running or not.

You could call dealer and ask what the general rule of thumb is but alot has to do with the condition and care the motor has had. We just bought a pontoon with a 2003 90 hp Yamaha 4 stroke. The hour meter was around 525 for 9 years of service. Quick math with a beer in hand averaged it out to about 60 hours/season.

To us, that seemed like alot but the rig is in great shape and the motor runs perfectly. We have no fears.

I would be more worried about an old motor with low hours than an old motor with high hours.

I have a 2000 Mercury 175 XR6 powerhead in my boat and have 1400 hours on it. Had to rebuild due to a connecting rod bearing failure at 1100 hours but the failure was due to user error in overheating the motor once too many times. (clogged jet intake). At 1100 hours compression was still fine (except for the cylinder that ate the needle bearings of course).

I bought the boat in 2008 with 850 hours (so that means I put 550 on it in 4 years.)