• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What's your favorite type and size of line?

ScottND

I'm new at Muskies other than them toothie varmints biting me off while I'm Bass fishing. So now I want to go after them as long as they are going to torment me anyway!!

What's your favorite type and size of line?

Thanks!

i use tuff line in 80 lb test. its easy to get backlashes out of and it casts realy well. the only thing i dont like about it is that it holds alot of water and on these cold fall days your hands can get pretty cold. i have heard some good things "but have not try'ed yet" about tuff line xp.

happy hunting
duck

I use Power Pro, I have some in the 50LB, 65LB and 80LB varieties, it cast like a dream, backlashes are easy to work out and best of all it retains very little water. I have Tuff XP on one reel and I'm not very happy with it, it reatins way too much water, and like Duck said that can leave some pretty cold hands on the falls days.

Matt

Matt,
You have "XP" and it holds water??? I would agree big time on the Tuf Line holding water, but I don't see that with the XP I have used? I like the Tuf Line and Tuf Line XP, but would not go with the "plus" except for a Jerkbait rod. I think the Plus is a thicker line and doesn't toss the lighter Spiinerbaits and bucktails very well. Tuf and Tuf XP both are thin and cast very well.

You will find the answer to this question will be exactly as above -- Tuf Line and Power Pro, If you have two reels, try both. Make up your own mind, because it seems that those of us that go Tuf, don't like Power Pro and the same goes for those that like Power Pro and don't care for Tuf Line. Both are good and won't brake, it it just a performance and handling issue, find out which one works best for you and stick with it.