• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Vintage Bike Recommendations?

AJ

Need some advice from folks who know something about vintage bikes. I would like to procure a small vintage bike, like a Honda CB, Honda C.L., Yamaha RD. Something smaller than a 500. What would you recommend for reliability, parts, ease of use, etc? My plan is to ride for fun in the neighborhood, around the city lakes, short errands, etc. I am a novice rider, with repair skills to cover simple stuff (tinkering). I’m not a mechanic. I don't need to go fast. Looking to spend less than $2000. Other bikes I should be looking at? While I am out shopping and looking, questions to ask, obvious things to look at, etc? Thanks in advance.

I had a Honda CB750, a CB 350 and a few other bikes in the CB series. Rock solid bikes with very simple mechanical systems. I think any of the older Honda bikes are very similar, parts are easy to come by, and you can find one for a good price.

Realisticaly, there are numerous bikes in the late 70-80s time frame from teh japanese manufacturers that are great bikes for a novice rider and are easy on the pocketbook.

I love vintage bikes, especially the Yamaha RD series. For what you are looking to use it for, they really dont fit the bill. They were high strung two stroke screamers, and really were great handling bikes. They require a lot of tuning to keep them happy. I loved my 400.

The Yamaha XS400 and XS650 were great bikes. The Honda 500 Ascot

was another good one, but they are hard to find now.

The Honda CB series was another good line as mentioned. The early 80's 750F was my favorite.