• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Heat for Quick Fish 3

imgoing2sleep

I'm pretty new to this hard water fishing thing and am finding it a blast. I just bought my first ice house. Eskimo quick fish 3. Trying to figure out how big of a heater I need to run for adequate heat. I am thinking about trying out the small portable buddy heater. Is this gonna be enough or should I spring for a bigger heater? Any advise for a new pop up user. Can't wait to get out and try it.

It depends on how cold of a day you pick to go fishing. In general though you will want a big buddy or a sunflower heater. Something that can put out more than 9,000 BTU's is what you want. If it is above 20 degrees and calm a mr buddy (smaller one) will work. Also, you might want to think about getting a battery powered fan that can hang from the celing. It will help distribute the warm air thoroughly throughout the shack.

except it depletes all the oxygen in the the house then you pass out(had this happen) for a beginner I'd get the big buddy its the safest heater out there and works great and a lot safer if you have kids with ya!

The sunflower style heater cooker will probably serve you best. They are reliable, put out lots of heat if its needed, takes up very little space when transporting and cheaper.