• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Diesel owners...To cover or not to cover?

I've got myself an 02 f350 7.3. Driving down the road I see maybe one in two/three trucks(diesels) that have some form of grill cover. My question is, is there any benefit or lack there of for covering the grill? I'd guess it would help with heating, but don't you need some air flow?? Just wondering. Thanks.

Well, Im no expert. But I think it is simple logic. The grill cover just helps to hold the warm air under the hood and allows for a faster warm up when at idle. Hence why diesels have a higher idle when sitting in one spot. If you didn't have a grill cover you will just idle higher because cold air is being sucked in through the grill. It restricts the flow of cold air your fan can pull.

Once your vehicle reaches operating temp, your thermostat regulates the temp from there. But the bra just helps to hold the warm air under the hood and warm up faster?

If that makes sense?

A cover doesn't hold the heat under the hood as much as it prevents it from flowing through the radiator(s) when driving.

Diesels have excellent cooling ability which is great for summer but no so much this time of year. In temps like these you can cover the grill entirely and not have any issues with overheating. When it gets around 30 degrees outside I'll peel my grill cover off, but the transmission temperature is affected more than engine temp at that point. The tranny cooler seems to need more airflow on my truck (Duramax), although the transmission cooler is quite a bit smaller than the engine radiator.

I use the factory grill cover and I fold the upper left and right hand corners down and tuck them behind the cover before I snap it in place to allow some airflow through the grill.