• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hey all I am very interested in getting into some arrowhead hunting this coming Spring. Anyone have any advice as I am brand new to arrowhead hunting. Not looking for peoples hot spots, just a good place to start....

Thanks

Along the minnesota river. My buddy has land near the river, and there is an old Indian trail they use to use. We always find stuff. We dig up some of the ground and wait for a good rain and than it uncovers lots of treasures!

I was thinking about this today and the layout of the land I am speaking off. At one point the river was rather wide, thus explaining why the trail is where it is today that the Indians used. Look at the landscape and think back many many years ago where the river might have been vs where its at now.

My buddies land is about 1 mile from the river. I think at some point the river was right next to his land way back in the day.

Just my opinion and assumption

Plowed fields (especially freshly plowed) near larger rivers (especially confluences and bends) are worth walking, especially after a rain, though if they were fall-plowed, you might have luck any time after the snow is gone.

I used to do this sometimes in Illinois when I was younger and it was surprising how arrowheads could be found in a random field. I had a classmate who's dad had displays of arrowheads all over his house that he had found by walking fields.

I only have a few left from when I was a kid. My mom found a "box of rocks" in my room when I moved out and dumped them! Kind of like the classic "baseball cards in a shoebox" stories.... I managed to refind a couple of them, but there was some damage done.