• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Calling in Late Season bucks

This is my first year with a Muzzy and I found a nice bedding area and food source and the camera shows A LOT of activity in the last 4 days but all during dark hours- AM and PM, only 1 of 235 photos during daylight. What can I do to bring the deer out during the light? Thanks

After being shot at for 2-3 weeks, deer dont like to move unless they have to like in this cold, I myself am gonna sit over a bean feild saturday moutning that tuck away in a far corner of a feild where theres cover, seclusion an feed. I am also gonna wait till sunrise to move to my mourning stand. ML can be tough unless you have a party to push woods with. Tey are really skittish. Hit the food. I wait till sunrise to go to my mourning stand, just feel that at that time they havent been pushed outa feilds or bummeped going to stand cause they like to move alot earliwer to their beds after being shot at for so long. early to mid mourning with this cold they get up an mill around to get warm an brouse. My 2 cents anyway. Boar

Bucks are at the tail end of the rut now - no pun intended! laugh There may be a few hangers-on, but not many.

Depending on where you are, deer should be getting back to a fairly normal pattern again, although post rifle season evening movement is primarily in the last 15 minutes of shooting time. Mid-morning, to early afternoon can be a good time to catch some movement - back in the woods. Early morning will typically find em' bedded in deep grasses, cattails, or lowland areas way back in the woods.

This time of year I hunt back in the trees, no longer on edges. The bucks rarely stick their noses outta the woods until well after dark, but they will move around a little, way back in there, during the day.