• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Strait Leadcore or Precision Trolling's system ?

MuskieJunkie

I'm rigging up some new rods for leadcore trolling and I can't decide if I should run strait leadcore with a simple leader or use the Precision Trolling (aka the trolling bible) system (50' mono leader, 3 colors of lead, and then mono).

Anyone have anyexperience or insight that could sway me one way or the other. I'm new to using strait leadcore line and really like it but by going with the Precision Trolling system I would be able to use their dive charts. Thanks guys.

You can still use your deep divers. What the book does not say is what will a lure run with straight leadcore (I use the 27#) when pulled at 1 mph or if run at 3 mph? I know going slower may help them go deeper, faster they go shallower. I use only 20 ft of clear line as a leader, sometimes it may be 10# smoke fireline for strained or low light fishing. Sometimes you may need to just try different things out on a known depth of water, speeds and baits.

I also use a line counter reel for more precision, and another linecounter combo for the snap-weight section. Can spread lures out, and 1 lure maybe follow another, if fish missed the 1st bait, it gives them another shot.