• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

I am fairly new to fishing for cats, and was wondering if anybody had any tips for a newbie. I live around the stevens point area, and have heard that there is some good spots. Is now a good time to fish for them? Any particular baits, presentations, that work well? Any info would help, just trying to get out and do some river fishing if i can, thanks.

I pick up a few catfish each winter through the ice fishing for walleyes.

I don't fish much in the summer around the point area. I do catch catfish on the WI river in the spring and fall, again fihing live bait for walleyes.

Growing up fishing the Red River on the ND/MN border we caught a lot of catfish. They will bite just about anything. If you have your good spots I would throw out some form of live or dead bait on a lindy rig, sit back and wait for a bite. Remember you can throw out 3 lines in WI compared to just 1 in MN.

I would think as the water warms up the catfish would get more active.

I believe the open water regs for WI are 2 lines.