• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Tournament Fishing

berfish

I will be joining the Team Bass Fishing Club this summer and I am new to the tournament scene. Anyone know some good things to have like rods reels and lures? How about acessories for boats? How often to prefish? Anything would be helpful. Thank you.
bf

Oh man, where to start?!?!
I guess I would try to focus on the presentations you are most comfortable with for starters. Tournament fishing is mostly a confidence thing. You need the confidence to stick what you know what works long enoug for it to pay off. When you get more used to fishing them, then you can worry about getting into switching lures every 10th cast smile.gif For starters, do not go too light on your equipment. A medium/heavy rod, 6.5-7' and go with some type of super-line, whiplash would be my choice. Nothing is worse than loosing a big fish during a tournement because your line broke or your rod was too flimsy to pull it out of thick cover.
As for baits, I personally like to throw a "search" bait such as a spinnerbait, buzzbait or crankbait. By using these baits, I am searching out the more agressive fish.
If your partner is good at throwing a worm or a grub, have him/her back you up on misses or have them work the more subtle areas while you cover water.
Hope this helps a little and good luck.

------------------
>"////=<
Gull Guide Service
fishingminnesota.com/gullguide
Brainerd-Mille Lacs-Willmar
Bemidji-Ottertail

beerfish,