• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Plumbing Question

Parker

I am a novice handyman trying to help out a lady friend of mine. She has a leaky faucet in her bathtub. The hot water does not appear to be shutting off completely leading to a constant drip. The drip is not a huge problem, but I was asked to fix it if I could.

The hot water and cold water run to separate fixtures/knobs in the bathtub / shower. When I started playing with the hot water knob the first thing I noticed was that there was much less tension with the hot water knob than the cold water. What I mean by this is that it is easier to turn on the hot water than the cold. Less pressure is needed to turn the knob. This led me to believe that something needed to be tightened with the hot water fixture. I turned off the water to the house, dis-assemble the hot water fixture, cleaned, re-applied teflon tape, and re-assembled making sure that all figtings were tight. It didn't solve the problem. The faucet still leaks and the hot water knob is still much looser than the cold. Any suggestions? Should I just replace the fixture?

with two separate faucets, you should have two separate valves. Sounds like the rubber washer inside the valve is worn out. This would explain the looseness, ie less friction between the washer and the valve seat. You need to take the valve apart to get to the washer. Usually you do this by popping the decorative cap off the top of the knob and unscrewing the valve stem from the seat. You should find a rubber washer screwed to the bottom of the valve stem. Take the washer and stem to a good hardware store and you can get a replacement washer for a couple bucks and a grateful lady friend for not having to buy a whole new fixture.