• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

what grain for 243 cal deer hunting?

What grain bullet should I use deer hunting w/243? The most I was able to find in a sporting good store is a 100 grain is that enough? I'm really new to shooting so any advice will be greatly appreciated.thanks.

ahhhhh..the .243 bullet. Love it. It has it's limitations but I use mine for antelope and deer depending on how I'm hunting on any given day. I'm a dyed in the wool unwavering Sierria 100 grain boattail fan, of which, I reload and produce sub MOA at 100. My last recorded cronied FPS a coupla years ago was 2878 with RP brass, CCI 200's, pushing with 42.5 gr of IMR 4831 out of a Remington Model 7, 18 1/2 barrel. I am not a proponent of what I call "exotic" factory loads ( nothing intended to those who do). If I were to pick out a brand I'd go with the 100 grain Remington Core-Lokt". However, opinions will vary and I respect those individuals. I simply state what works for me out of my gun. You have a potent caliber there and should meet most general shooting needs. Best of luck with it.

Paul, thank you for posting that, I have been trying to get a load for a buddies Model 7 for the past couple of years. I will try the sierra 100 boat tails. The sweet spot so far on his model 7 has been about 2500 fps and it didn't matter what we were feeding it.....I will try those next for him

I think I'll try the 100 grain remmington. I wasn't sure on the knock down power but I got the answer I was looking for thanks guys.

I think it's the bullet construction that's key when using the lighter calibers on big game. If possible use a 100 grain bonded bullet.