• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How to remove a conibear from your dog

With the recent issues with conibears I said I would make a post with pictures on how to remove a conibear from your pet. This would cover anything that was in the conibear, but you'll have more time with a dog than say a cat.

I have never heard of an accidental dog catch where the owner was close by where they wouldn't have had time to get the trap off before the dog expired.

Please keep this civil so it doesn't get yanked, but feel free to ask any questions you'd like. I am no expert, but I have been trapping since I was about 5 years old.

First of all, here are the 2 conibears you are most likely to run into on dry land that would be capeable or large enough for a dog to get it's heard into. The larger one is a 220 and the smaller one is a 160. 220's are 7 x 7" and the 160's are 6" square.

DSC03798.jpg

here is what a 220 looks like when it is set

DSC03784.jpg

and here is what it looks like sprung...

DSC03787.jpg

here the springs are compressed and you'll notice the safety hooks are latched. this is the position you would need to get it to to remove it from your dog.

DSC03786.jpg

here is what you don't want to see. The actress is Abby, my 1 1\2 year old yellow lab that is 57 lbs. She would never be able to get this far into a conibear without my help. A dog this size would only be able to get one jaw behind it's ears, but that is just as lethal as two.

DSC03797.jpg

Before you ar people come over to take my dog away, it is not spring on her head.