• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ice Jigs Used On Oneida Lake From The Past

ThunderJig - Those jigs were quite heavy and got down quick. I'd guess 1/16, probably heavier. I remember haveing one that was black n yellow that caught alot of fish. They were nice when you were on fish thick and didnt have to finness them. Just get up and down quick and get another fish out of the school before they moved. There was another jig that was similar but was more rounded also...

To Jay and Todd

The Big Dipper in the picture is 1/8oz. There also was a Lil Dipper at 1/16oz and a Baby Dipper at 1/32oz. I hope that helps. Jay KNOWS his jigs and is totally correct about their description.

Icerod - Funny, I started playing around this fall painting and modding jig-em-ups. One thing is for sure the hooks on all of them stink! The old originals and the new ones too. I played around with adding a trebel but no mater what configuration I use the thing tangles. The jig just has that much action. I did remove and replace some with fine wire nymph hooks though...

Here are some that I had good times with on Oneida Lake. Hopefully I got all the names correct. From left to right: 1)football jigs from Apps Landing 2)Northland fire eye jig or fire eye grub 3)Jig A Whopper walleye hawgers 4) Stryker or striker (on left) anyone who fished with Fishin Phil knew that one right Tank & Jay and banana jig (on right) and finally 5) Pop-O's from Woodys Lures.

oneidalures.jpg

Yep Dave, we called that one the "green thing". And Phil had it on seemingly 99% of the time. Packed it full of spikes, sometimes left them on all weekend and just added a few throughout the day. cool

Those footballs caught alot of fish and got up and down quick. And I just happen to know who has the molds. whistle