• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Winter Camping

OnAFly

I was thinking of trying winter camping this year. I've never done this before, but I think I've got enough equipment to make it through a night or two in December or January.

I've got:

2 person tent(3 season, not necessarily a 4 season tent)

2 Thermarest TrailLite pads

0 degree sleeping bag

plenty of warm clothes wink

What else do I need for a night in the cold? Will a three season tent be ok, or will it breathe too much? Anyone with some experience on this? Advice would be greatly appreciated!

Sorry to have to remove the address.

If you do a search you'll find a wealth of information on winter camping.

I've used a three season tent in the past for winter camping. One difference between three and four season tents is the thicknes of the tent poles and the diameter of them. A good four season/mountaineering tent is designed to handle a heavier snow load and higher winds. If I use a tent in the winter, I generally leave the door open so I don't get such a huge build up of frost on the inside.

I think you'll find a lot of different opinions on how people camp in the winter. A lot of it depends on where they are going to camp and if they are fishing.Method of travel comes into play, too. Skis, snowshoes, dogsled, snowmobile or car.

I totally agree with red. Everyone has their own way of winter camping because it tends to get real personal about how you accomplish it. Everyone has their own comfort levels and why they venture out in the winter.

I use 3-season tents. I've thought about getting a 4-season, but the added features don't outweight the added cost and weight. A QUALITY 3-season should more than handle a winter trip.

Have a white gas stove if possible. Compressed gas is less effective at lower temps and can freeze up if its really cold.