• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Discouraged Flathead fishing

wall_eye_assasin

This is my first year fishing for flatheads and I can tell you I am getting a little discouraged. I am a shore fisherman but I read of all the fisherman getting nice flatheads from shore. I have been out almost weekly for hours and hours and have only two flatheads. The thing that makes me keep fishing for these monsters is that 43.75 I caught and I love catfishing in general but these flatheads are getting me discouraged. I have the tackle, bait, but just no luck so far. I have a buddy of mine that caught two 24 pounders and a 12 pounder the last two times out and I put in 40 hours the last 3 weeks and notta, zilch. I am fishing the wood, in the current and same places as other fisherman but to no avail. OK I am done crying I just feel the old flathead catfish is one heck of a fish to catch. I am going out in a boat next week and maybe my luck will change.........Dang flatheads

But Kirk got to remember that even though guys (and gals) on here post up big Flatheads, they also go through long periods of no fish/small fish that usually aren't talked about as much as the big fish stories.

Email me where you have been fishing and I'll see if I can help you out at all. Keep at it.

Quote:
The thing that makes me keep fishing for these monsters is that 43.75 I caught

wall_eye_assasin is that inches or weight?

That is a pretty good year if only two flats and you just started. wink Some go ___ years and do not break the 30lb mark whistlewink