• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Solar panel battery chargers?

deaceye

I can not find info on a forum, anyway what do I need to get one of these attached to my fish house? I am looking at a 5 to 10 Watt charger. It also seems you need a charging regulator in place to keep your battery from over charging? I know there are people using them any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

I'm no expert, but a 5-10 watt charger won't need a regulator. It's putting out such a small amp flow that it won't boil your batteries. Also, it's not going to charge the average size deep cycle well, if at all. Maintaining it would be fine, but not for charging. Problem with charging with such a low charge on a deep cycle is it'll start to sulfate and eventually kill your battery. Like I said, no expert, but I'd consider a larger solar panel for charging...

I went threw all the same questions with my new shack last year so I did nothing and paid attention to what I thought would work according to the sun. My opinion was that as the winter was going on there was no sun. always cloudy also I hate to penetrate the roof and what to do when you travel with it. also what do you do just aim it south. So I decided that if im gonna do anything it will be get a wind generator from cabelas or northern tool for 500 bucks comes with a regulator ive also heard of guys running them to a heater of some sort which wouldnt be so bad either. The only draw back I can thick of is itll help catch the eye of a theif gonna pick a shack to brake into. Any other opinions thou and im all ears.

I was thinking of doing the same thing, but after doing to Game Fair, I decided to just get a small generator. Have a deep cycle just to see when you first arrive, to start the heater. Then fire up genny, charge the depp cycle then swith it off, run the lites from the genny.