• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

duck and goose calls

I am new to duck hunting and don't have my own calls yet, I was just wondering what anyone would recommend. I don't want to spend a fortune and am looking for something that sounds good but is also easy to use. Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,

Sam

Get a short reed and a good instructional DVD like bad gramer. You don't need to go out and get a $100 or $200 goose call. There are some good cheaper calls out there that will get the job done. I would suggest to go out to a sporting goods store and try a few different calls and see what you like. Then its all about practice practice practice

As far as goose calls the best one ive ever owned was a Lohman Long Honker. Very easy to use and sounds great and I think it is around $30. I havent had very good luck with duck calls, ive bought probably 10 different ones and never been completely satisfied with one yet. The best one though was just a cheap wood call made by Faulk's that I lost so I cant remember which model it was.

sam, im sure you will get a lot of answers but here is my advice, go to gander or cabelas and find a single reed primos. It will be around 25 bucks. A couple nice primos are a wench or I like the P.H.A.T lady. Also I believe Zink makes some lower priced calls around the same price. Would be worth taking a look at them. You will also need a goose call a flute would be a good starter but if it were me I would buy a cheap short-reed because it opens up a lot more for you.

for a goose call tha long honker is to me the easiest to start out on and as everyone said go try a bunch of differnt ones out and see what is the most comfortable for you to use. Don't get wrapped up in high dollar ones until you are sure thats what you want.