• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Remodeling/ Major addition! Where to begin?

Powerstroke

My wife and I have finally decided to take the plunge and overhaul our current home. We can't sell in this market, our home was slightly overvalued in '06 when we bought and has lost at least 20% in value since then. Our home has a great foundation, is in a great neighborhood and has unlimited potential since I have the oldest and smallest home in the area. My house is the old farmhouse that sold the land to create the development that all my neighbors live in. So, I can only go up from here.

The house I'm working on is my first house so I have no knowledge about the process of remodeling like this. The only step we've taken so far is getting my brother who is an architect to take measurements of our house and start some design work for us. We have a single story house with a 750 sq. ft foundation and a finished basement. Our home is on a 1/2 ac We want to push out the front two walls 12-15 ft. and add a second story.

Where do we start? Where do we go from here? Are there any good resources you guys know about? Has any one done this kind of major overhaul?

Powerstroke,

I would get a builder on board right of way and have him in meetings with your architect. Make sure he has good subs to work with and is in good standing with the better business bureau.I designed my addition on my house and used Plekenpohl builders to do the actual construction. I was extremely impressed with these guys, quality work, all schedules met extremely careful not to disrupt living conditions during construction.