• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Best time/strem to hit for steelhead on Superior?

SWMuskeye

I've never done it before, but does anyone have experience hitting a steelie run from Lake Superior?

When would be a good time to plan a trip?

Also, I know that things get mighty crowded during the runs, which is expected. But, does anyone know of any streams that might be more productive than others?

Any help would be much appreciated.

-Matt

Hey Matt. If I had to pick a week it would be the last week of April, but anytime from early April till mid may can be good. Streams closer to Duluth tend to be more crowded, but also benifit from having Kamloops in the rivers as well as steelhead. Watch/ask the Duluth forum as we get closer for up to date info, it usually gets more steelhead discussion then the trout forum.

Muskie, your not dumb for asking a question, only dumb thing would be if you did'nt. The kamloop is a strain of rainbow originating from British Columbia. They tend to have a faster growth rate than the native strain. Males are more colorful with red gill plates and the females tend to be more silverish. It really isnt a cross between anything.

Hands down the best steelhead river flowing into lake superior is the Brule river in wisconsin.

The season opens in April. The steelhead will only be in there until late April, so the best time to be there is the weekend the season opens and the following weekend.

------------------
"Study to be quiet"

I would recommend a long Spinning outfit. For instance I have a St. Croix Avid Series 9' Medium actions Steelhead rod.

Of course you don't need this size rod but it sure makes it easier to position your drifts properly.