• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

mercury motor

dilleyo

I have a 1978 Mercury 40hp motor that I need to get fixed soon and was wondering if anyone can reccomend a repair shop near Woodbury. I have been looking online and would've thought that there would be a few in Stillwater, but couldn't seem to locate one. I was going to try to fix it myself, but I slacked it a little bit and now I just want it done. Can someone steer me in the right direction? Thanks.

I don't know much about motors as I am very new to them. My brother and I just purchased our first boat and motor. The motor sometimes bogs down at idle speed and will often kill. There is also an issue with the controls so that I have to really crank on the throttle to get it to get moving past idle speed, I mean REALLY crank on it with all of my might. It goes really well once I get it to (28mph on GPS), but there is no real in-between speeds.

Let's start at the beginning here...

When it bogs down at idle, try choking it, does it pick up?

Do you know the history on this motor? Was it winterized, fuel stabilizer run through the carbs, etc?

When you say you have to crank on it, you're taking effort to twist the grip, or push on the control handle, right? Which kind of controls do you have - tiller or console (steering wheel)?

marine_man

dilleyo, the guys will get you running great in no time. They helped me with several issues.

Here's what I would do, since this is a "new" motor to you -

-get new fuel line and bulb, Merc Brand (~$40)

-clean the carb at least, but while doing it, might as well do whole carb kit (~$30)

-new fuel filter

-new gas with a little Seafoam, and add Seafoam to each tank you use all the time