• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Box vs. Scratch Calls

Dan189

Hello. I am new to turkey hunting. I have been doing a lot of homework reading various articles on how to scout/setup/call/etc, and would like everyone's advice on a fairly inexpensive call for a rookie turkey hunter.

I did read one article that recommended a high-pitched box call if you live in a traditionally windy landscape (RR valley falls into that category).

I was at Sportsman's the other day looking at calls, but there are so many in each category I didn't even know where to begin.

Any and all advice and specifics on brand/model would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Man, one call will NEVER do. grin Seriously, you should have a slate call and a box call and before you're done with this new obsession you'll have several of each along with mouth calls and snuff cans and wingbones and.....

Fact is, turkeys show a definite preference to one over the other every day. The more calls that you carry and know how to use, the better off you'll be.

As far as the higher pitched calls go. I believe the glass and crystal calls are mostly higher pitched than the slate calls. I have a Rohm Brothers custom box call that is very high pitched and works well for long distance calling and during windy conditions. You can probably find info on them on the web.

DonBo,

I appreciate the feedback. I can see exactly what your saying, because from everything I've been reading on the web guys are carrying:

1 slate call

1 stryker

1 box call

2 mouth calls

1 owl hooter

1 crow call

My dilemma is that I want to ease my way into it. I can maybe budget for 2 of these. I am looking for inexpensive, and ease of use, and hopefully somewhat effective. any advice would be appreciated.

Dan,