Guests - If You want access to member only forums on HSO. You will gain access only when you sign-in or Sign-Up on HotSpotOutdoors.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MinnesnowtaWild

Where to target shoot my rifle?

20 posts in this topic

I am completely new to guns, and just bought a Remington 597 .22 (yes here-kitty-kitty I know you know all about this!). I am in the Mankato area and I just want to go out somewhere and set up some pop cans or targets anywhere from 25-100+ yards away and let loose as many rounds as I can.

I do not have any type of safety certificate, but my buddy does and has hunting experience so I have/will learn from him. I am in the Mankato area and don't really know where to begin to look. I have heard shooting ranges are usually only for pistols, but don't know if this is true and also not sure if they require a safety certificate.

Could I find a local WMA and pop on some blaze orange and just go unload 100 or more rounds at some targets without having to worry about anything at any time of the year?

Sorry for the noob questions, as I really have no clue where to begin to look. Also note that I am over 18, but not even sure if there is an age requirement for certain things or not.

drive up to Le Suere and head to Caribou hunt and gun club. 10 bucks to shoot all you care to shoot....not sure about pop cans but they might let you shoot clay pigeons, get the mini clays if you can, smaller target. but I do not think random shooting is allowed at WMA's. I know people do it, but I do not think it is legal.

WHAT I DON'T KNOW WHAT YOUR TALKING ABOUT LOL. Ya you can bring targets there. I really have no clue where to go target shoot thats not a range or a buddies back yard in the country. Watch going to any WMA's they normally have restrictions on target shooting there. You should be able to find all that info on www.dnr.state.mn.us/hunting. There it should tell you if you can or cannot target shoot.